Vaud ski resorts

Ski resorts in vaud

About the canton of Vaud and its ski resorts

The geographical location of the Canton of Vaud

The Canton of Vaud is located in Switzerland. It has nearly 750’000 inhabitants and its capital is Lausanne. Its geographical situation makes it a unique place : the Canton of Vaud is in fact placed between the Jura mountains to the North and the Alps in the South. Among the major points of interest that are part of the environment of the Vaudois and Waldensian, including Lake Geneva (which is also the lowest point of the Canton at 372 metres above sea level) and the summit of the Diablerets (famous for peaking at over 3’000 meters : it is the place the highest of the Canton of Vaud).

One of the main attractions of the Canton of Vaud, it is, of course, the possibility of skiing in the different resorts that make up the territory.

The ski resorts vaud

There is, therefore, a very large number of ski resorts in the 3’200 square miles comprising the area of the Canton of Vaud. One of the main assets of the Township, it is the diversity of its stations : some of them are indeed located in a high altitude (including alpine resorts), while others are more easily attainable by being located at a lower altitude (this is the great peculiarity of the stations of the Jura).

Generally, the ski resorts of the canton of vaud share a common history. At the base, most of them were in fact the mountain villages relatively remote and little inhabited. Gradually, these villages have evolved and have become places of great seasonal and real resorts where winter sports are king. In the Jura, a small family ski very enjoyable and relaxing, while the alpine resorts are more focused on skiing pure.

All of the resorts are connected by shuttle bus service or are accessible directly on skis.

What type of skiing can we practice in the Canton of Vaud?

This is also one of the main assets of the township : all skiers can find their pleasure. Thus, the large alpine resorts suitable for alpine enthusiasts wishing to enjoy large areas and ski lifts of qualities. Here, it will make it a ski perfectly suited for the discerning winter sports.

In the Jura, the situation is different : the altitude difference is less and the smaller tracks make it a place particularly suited to the beginners or the young. However, more experienced skiers will find when even their happiness in some tracks in the Jura. The mountains of the Jura, meanwhile, offer an environment particularly favourable to the related disciplines, such as nordic skiing, snowshoeing or even hiking. The Jura offers a variety of possibilities thanks to its vastness and the quality of the facilities that can be found. The Canton of Vaud has set up multiple security rules to take full advantage of this medium is at once lavish, natural and wild.

Vaud2017-07-15T18:43:31+00:00

Stations de ski vaudoises

A propos du canton de Vaud et de ses stations de ski

La situation géographique du Canton de Vaud

Le Canton de Vaud est situé en Suisse Romande. Il compte près de 750’000 habitants et sa capitale est Lausanne. Sa situation géographique en fait un lieu unique : le Canton de Vaud est en effet placé entre le massif du Jura au Nord et le massif des Alpes au Sud. Parmi les principaux points d’intérêts faisant partie de l’environnement des Vaudois et des Vaudoises, on trouve notamment le Lac Léman (qui est aussi le point le plus bas du Canton à 372 mètres d’altitude) et le sommet des Diablerets (célèbre pour culminer à plus de 3’000 mètres : il s’agit du lieu le plus haut du Canton Vaudois).

L’une des principales attractions du Canton de Vaud, c’est bien évidemment la possibilité donnée de skier dans les différentes stations qui composent le territoire.

Les stations de ski vaudoises

On trouve donc un très grand nombre de stations de ski dans les 3’200 km carrés composant la superficie du Canton de Vaud. L’un des principaux atouts du Canton, c’est la diversité de ses stations : certaines sont en effet situées en grande altitude (notamment les stations alpines), tandis que d’autres sont plus facilement atteignables en étant situées à une altitude moindre (c’est la grande particularité des stations du Jura).

Généralement, les stations de ski vaudoises partagent une histoire commune. A la base, la plupart étaient en effet des villages de montagne relativement reculés et peu habités. Petit à petit, ces villages ont évolué et sont devenus de véritables lieux saisonniers et de véritables stations où les sports d’hiver sont rois. Dans le Jura, on trouve de petites stations de ski familiales très agréables et reposantes, tandis que les stations alpines sont plus centrées sur le ski pur.

L’ensemble des stations sont reliées par des bus navettes ou sont accessibles directement à ski.

Quel type de ski peut-on pratiquer dans le Canton du Vaud?

C’est là aussi l’un des principaux atouts de ce canton : tous les skieurs peuvent y trouver leur plaisir. Ainsi, les grandes stations alpines conviendront parfaitement aux amateurs de ski alpin souhaitant profiter de grands domaines et de remontées mécaniques de qualités. Ici, il s’agira d’un ski parfaitement adapté pour les amateurs confirmés de sports d’hiver.

Dans le Jura, la donne est différente : les dénivelés moindres et les plus petites pistes en font un lieu particulièrement adapté aux débutants ou aux plus jeunes. Cependant, les skieurs les plus confirmés trouveront quand même leur bonheur dans certaines pistes du Jura. Les monts du Jura offrent quant à eux un environnement particulièrement favorable aux disciplines telles que le ski nordique, les raquettes ou encore la randonnée. Le Jura offre donc diverses possibilités grâce à son immensité et à la qualité des installations que l’on peut y retrouver. Le Canton de Vaud a mis en place de multiples règles de sécurité pour profiter pleinement de ce milieu à la fois somptueux, naturel et sauvage.